Chapelle du Rosaire by Matisse

14 thoughts on “Chapelle du Rosaire by Matisse”

    1. Only the outside view – for that reason! The others are images available on the web by photographers who presumably had special permission. I too watched the Modern Masters programme and found the section on the cutouts and the Chapel stained glass the best part; and seeing Alastair Sooke so visibly moved by them. There’s a nice slideshow on the Modern Masters website

  1. My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web address and thought
    I should check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.

    Look forward to looking into your web page repeatedly.

  2. Hi, as a minister (non comformist!!) i still find this abeautiful interior. About 10 years ago we came across the old church in Aigue Morte, in the Carmargue, an ancient building yet with very bright , very modern, highly coloured windows.They were not like our traditional windows, just abstract shapes in two colours. They were qhuite stunning and gace the simple pale interior a wonderful glow.
    Similarly, last year we found an Old Church with modern vibrant windows in Port Louis.
    Its seems to be a “French thing”, yet somehow it works beautifully.

  3. Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I
    genuinely enjoy reading your articles. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that
    go over the same subjects? Thanks for your time!

    1. Thanks for your kind remarks, Pauline. I tend to cover a variety of topics, but if I am right in thinking that kits the art posts that you are most drawn to, I have found the websites listed under Art in the right-hand panel fascinating to browse – the Google Art Project, the BBC’s amazing Your Paintings, and the Arts Desk. The Tate’s searchable slideshow is good too (http://www.tate.org.uk/art/content/pages/slideshow-app.html). For blogs, one of my favourites is Diana J Hale’s (http://dianajhale.wordpress.com/).

  4. Mischa says,

    How stunning! Such grace. I am very moved too, such a vision, so clear to encompass. Thank you for the insight. Brilliant.

  5. Greetings: My husband and I visited the Matisse Chapelle in 1965. Ray drew a sketch of the carved wood white door to the confessional. It has wood cut-outs applied to the door. What is the proper term to describe those “applied cut-outs”? Thank you for your descriptions.

    1. Hi Margaret, thanks for reading and adding your comment. I don’t know whether there is a specific term for what Matisse did with the door to the confessional at Chapelle du Rosaire, except that the design is a three dimensional embodiment of his paper cut outs. I have the catalogue for the Tate Cut-Outs exhibition this year which has a section on the Chapelle du Rosaire, but it casts no light on this. Sorry not to be able to help more.

Leave a Reply

