The Rescue Man: a city built and destroyed

19 thoughts on “The Rescue Man: a city built and destroyed”

  1. Thanks, Gerry. Superb commentary on this wonderful novel (which IMHO knocks Birdsong – also about love, war, adjustment, loss – into a cocked hat). His second (Half The Human Race) is also worth it.

  2. Thanks for that nice review, Gerry. That was a brilliant spot on the Norris Green Library carving, though I have to admit I’ve never clapped eyes on it. Life imitating art if ever I saw it – uncanny! I actually based the idea of Eames’s portrait on Joseph Severn’s lovely painting of Keats. But I’ll know what to say if anyone brings it up in future…
    With best regards,
    Tony Quinn.

    1. Well there you go – we readers always have a tendency to read into the text something that isn’t there. I did enjoy your book and the great affection for Liverpool that came across. Thank you for commenting.

  3. Dear Mr Quinn: thanks from me, too! I’m not one to write fan mail so haven’t – and so perhaps this comment will suffice – but your two books have given me more pleasure and stimulus than most novels in the last few years. Every pal has had one of them for a present. (Sad to see that life has also been echoing art from Half the Human Race in the spate of sports-related suicides of recent months.)
    Thanks for your work and all best wishes for future output.
    Cheers – from an old lag from Page Moss which (like Norris Green, above) owed its orginal form to enlightened 30s municipal architecture and planning, and ruined by bloody Thatcher and her devil’s spawn.

    1. Thank you for that. I do have a copy of QH’s original book, purchased many years ago when I was a mere lad.

      Denys Owen

  4. I was hoping politics could be kept out of this discussion, so was disappointed to read the comment of nivekdkd, one-sided as it is!

  5. Eh? How can you keep politics out of this topic? Of course world wars, bombing civilians, making planning decisions, clearing populations, closing libraries, selling social housing are political. What else are they? Cricket? One-sided? It’s called an opinion. It invites a response.

  6. Dear Gerry: Wd you kindly let me know yr home address, as I’d like to send you a copy of my new book, The Streets. I’m afraid it’s true: no good deed goes unpunished.
    Best regards,
    TQ

  7. Other buildings of note are the cast iron churches such as St Michael’s Aigburth and St George’s Everton. They date from the early 19th century. They were built by John Crag, who is worth remembering.

  8. I’ve just finsihed reading The Rescue Man, a book that has haunted me for the past week. I wondered if Peter Eames was a real person, and I struck lucky with this website. The photographs of Peter Ellis’ buildings took my breath away, the Oriel Building, 15 Cook Street, and the carved stone picture of the boy reading a book gave my heart a jolt – that’s Frank Eames I thought.
    I’m not a liverpudlian, but am a northerner, albeit a southerner now, but I love old buildings.
    Thank you Anthony Quinn (no relation to my Uncle Bill!) for drawing my attention to the glories of Peter Ellis.

  9. Found this just by chance, have thoroughly enjoyed it. Especially the “Heavy Rescue story’s” Father was in AFS in Bootle & this gives a small insight into what he his mates endured. So many thanks fer a brilliant read.

Leave a Reply

