Christopher Logue: between the raised stick and the cowering back

13 thoughts on “Christopher Logue: between the raised stick and the cowering back”

    1. Thanks, Thomas. I’m pleased to have given you an opening to his work. My post probably differs from most of today’s tributes in placing the emphasis on his sixties poems, rather than the Homer sequence.

  1. I had not heard of Logue either which is strange since as a teenager I was into the “Liverpool” Poets, Adrian Henry, Roger McGough (remember “Frinck” and “Summer with Monica” anyone?) and Brian Patten. Also had a wonderful anthology entitled “Daughters of Albion” with cover illustration by William Blake…I wrote too in late sixties, early seventies but when my mother died and my father cleared out the house he burned them all (without permission) because they were “morbid”…What is wrong with morbid I ask you?!

  2. Tessa – I may have misleadingly given the impression that Logue was a Liverpool poet. He wasn’t, though in the times of which I wrote, he toured on the same stand-up poetry circuit as Henri, McGough, and Patten. He grew up in a different port city – Portsmouth.

  3. What a sad loss. His War Music made me understand how Keats felt on first looking into Chapman’s Homer: I understood it viscerally for the first time. What a thrill, and an education. His 60s poetry is so generous of spirit and is strong as undistracted people are. His poetry will continue to be spoken, and will gain wider currency and bring some space for wisdom in this benighted world as time passes, I’m sure. A beautiful spirit comes clearly and musically through his poetry, without distracting effects and such clarity is a gift to the world.

    Thanks for your post, which has opened up more of his work for me; my condolonces to his family and friends; his life was well lived.

  4. A huge thank you for this comprehensive and thoroughly entertaining post. I clicked on the link to the Red Bird performance and laughed out loud: sultry devil-may-care summery British cheek!
    I have just started to read Christopher Logue this afternoon, and this post has been a useful orientation.
    All best,
    John

    1. Thanks, John; glad to be useful and entertaining. It’s good to be reminded of things I have already forgotten I wrote (but then, that’s why I started this thing). Logue was just one of the elements that made the sixties such an exciting time to be young and radical.

Leave a Reply

