Tokyo String Quartet

In the resplendent St Georges Concert Room tonight to hear one of the world’s great string quartets play. The Tokyo String Quartet performed Samuel Barber’s String Quartet, Op 11 (1936) which has as its second movement the Adagio which was spun off as a separate piece, the popular Adagio for Strings. This is the piece, as performed by the Boston University Tanglewood Institute String Quartet Workshop:

Also on the programme was A Way A Lone by Toru Takemitsu and Schumann’s String Quartet, Op.41 No.3, seen here played by The Beacon String Quartet:

The Tokyo Quartet are: Martin Beaver, violin; Kikuei Ikeda, violin; Kazuhide Isomura, viola;  and Clive Greensmith, cello.  Introducing their encore (a Haydn movement), Martin Beaver commented that this was the Quartet’s first appearance in Liverpool, about which he was particularly pleased as his mother had been born here.

One thought on “Tokyo String Quartet

  1. I don’t listen to a lot of classical music and wanting to try something new, bought tickets for this and this was the first classical music concert I’ve ever attended in my life. I was completely blown away by the last piece – the one by Schumann. Not so impressed by the other pieces though, I must say, the Barber piece was the only one I knew before I attended the concert.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.