Buddy Holly

Snow was snowing, wind was blowing
When the world said, goodbye Buddy

Tribute to Buddy Holly [Mike Berry]

A long, long time ago…
I can still remember
How that music used to make me smile.
And I knew if I had my chance
That I could make those people dance
And, maybe, they’d be happy for a while.

But February made me shiver
With every paper I’d deliver.
Bad news on the doorstep;
I couldn’t take one more step.

I can’t remember if I cried
When I read about his widowed bride,
But something touched me deep inside
The day the music died.

American Pie [Don Maclean]

Today is the 50th anniversary of the death of Buddy Holly in  a plane crash on 2 February 1959 – for Don Maclean, ‘the day the music died’. Although his success lasted only a year and a half before his death in an airplane crash, his work influenced musicians, notably The Beatles and The Rolling Stones, and exerted a profound influence on popular music. In 2004, Rolling Stone Magazine ranked Holly #13 on their list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time.

Lubbock

Buddy was from Lubbock, a small West Texas town that has produced an inordinate number of musicians, including: Bob Wills, Buddy Holly, Roy Orbison, Joe Ely, Butch Hancock, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Terry Allen, Lloyd Maines, Bobby Fuller and Waylon Jennings. See Lubbock Lights post.

Buddy Holly Live in New York 1957: Peggy Sue

Rare video – see the audience get really fired up by rock n’roll!

Buddy Holly: It Doesn’t Matter Anymore

Buddy Holly: Oh Boy!

Rolling Stones 1964: Not Fade Away

John Lennon sings Buddy Holly

John Lennon sings six Buddy Holly songs: “Peggy Sue” “Not fade away” “Mailman, bring me no more blues” “Heartbeat / Peggy Sue got married” and “Maybe baby”

Paul McCartney sings Words of Love

Joe Ely: Oh Boy

Irish TV session, 1980’s. Joe Ely, accompanied by David Grissom on lead guitar.

Links

Leave a Reply

